AUSDAUERPRÜFUNG – AD

In order to get Danni’s breed survey done, she needs to have her AD completed. The AD is a tool to test a dog’s conditioning and structure. The dog runs next to the handler on a bicycle for 12.5 miles at about 8 – 9.5mph. It sounds rough, but considering I’ve mountain biked longer distances, I think running my dog shouldn’t be too huge of a struggle. My knees will be sore for quite a while, but I think in the end it’s going to be worth it. But not only do I need to condition myself for the run, I need to condition Danni. Siruis Dog has a good program that others have used to get their dogs ready for the AD. It’s as follows:

Week
Base Run Time
Base Run Distance
Long Run Time
Long Run Distance
Week 1
20m
2.0 – 2.5 miles
25m
2.5 – 3.5 miles
Week 2
25m
2.5 – 3.5 miles
30m
3.0 – 4.0 miles
Week 3
25/30m
2.5 – 3.5 miles
40m
4.5 – 6.0 miles
Week 4
30m
3.0 – 4.0 miles
50m
5.5 – 7.0 miles
Week 5
30/25m
3.0 – 4.5 miles
60m
6.5 – 7.5 miles
Week 6
40m
3.0 – 6.0 miles
70m
7.5 – 8.0+ miles

I really can’t wait to get started. I’ve got a nice Specialized hardtail and a Walky-Dog so I’m fairly well prepped. Just gotta get at it!! I think we’ll start training tonight! I’d like to get the test over with during the winter months while it’s still somewhat on the cooler side here in So Cal.

Leave a Reply

